See 7 States Exempted From Governorship Election Today

It is no longer news that the Gubernatorial elections holds today in most of the states in the Country but few states are exempted.

The states includes, Anambra, Bayelsa, Edo, Ekiti, Kogi, Ondo and Osun. The seven states will not be participating because their governorship elections held at different times or `off season’, the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports. This was mainly due to court judgments that nullified the election of their governors at different times in the past.

However, the State Houses of Assembly elections will be conducted in all the 36 states. The FCT will not witness both elections because it is run by a Minister, who is appointed by the President, with laws made by the National Assembly.

But Saturday will witness election of new chairmen and councillors in the six Area Councils of the territory, namely Abaji, Abuja Municipal, Bwari, Gwagwalada, Kuje and Kwali